Been awhile….

How  sad it’s been that I haven’t had the opportunity to take any new hikes in the past month.  I can’t complain too much really–I have a job, and have been able to spend time with good friends.  Hiking wasn’t a top priority, although, I think I need to reassess my priorities.  Why not have it be towards the top of the list.  I work out to keep my body in good health, why not hike to keep my mind in good health?  Of course, the other obstacle is the weather.  Hurricanes and cold have kept me mostly indoors, and as the months continue it will get worse.  Did I mention that I hate being cold?  It will take a strong will to get me outdoors as the temperatures drop.

But yesterday, I did take advantage of a few moments in the early afternoon to revisit a local park.  The leaves are gone, or brown underfoot, but when you look closely enough, you can still see beauty.  Without leaves, the trees are exposed, and vulnerable.  Leaves no longer hide the tangle of branches and rough trunks.  They do just the opposite of us.  They shed all layers to protect themselves from the cold, while we constantly add more.

I did find a few trees still golden with the very last yellows of fall.

Tags:

Leave a Reply

TakeAHikeTony

Notes from wandering aimlessly for more than 40 years...

I heart PGH

IheartPGH: a blog about Pittsburgh and people who love this city

Walking Pittsburgh

one neighborhood at a time

Endless Mountains Experience

Hiking, Backpacking, Paddling, Camping, and Exploring Pennsylvania's Endless Mountains...and beyond.

