Walking Trail: Take Two

Yesterday afternoon, I couldn’t stand being indoors anymore and decided to go for a walk on the local Rails to Trails again.  The weather was cold, but sunny, a weather anomaly I have always enjoyed.  It’s thrilling feeling the sun on my face, but the cold in my bones.  Of course, if you add wind, I wouldn’t enjoy it nearly as much. But luckily yesterday, the weather was perfect.

The last time, I tried just walking the trail, I ended up running the trail and did not try any of those side trails that I have always intended on exploring.  This time, I vowed not to let the music convince me to go any faster than a leisurely stroll. Before heading down tot he trail I went walking through a local housing development and I found a horse stable!  I had no idea that it was there and discovered an awesome old cabin.

Once on the trail, I had the music cranked up and began looking for unmarked trails through the woods.  I found one soon and climbed a very steep hill into the trees ready to explore the scenery.  Almost immediately, I turned off the music.  It was this instantaneous need that compelled me to walk in the quiet.  It was as though music was fine when walking a less scenic gravel road, but the woods demanded my undivided attention.

The trees were literally creaking in the wind.  It was the most wonderful sound. Many times I stopped just to listen to the trunks sway in the breeze, and  occasionally emit a crack amid the silence.  The woods were right–the music would have ruined the experience and I would have missed the songs of nature.

Tags:

Leave a Reply

TakeAHikeTony

Notes from wandering aimlessly for more than 40 years...

I heart PGH

IheartPGH: a blog about Pittsburgh and people who love this city

Walking Pittsburgh

one neighborhood at a time

Endless Mountains Experience

Hiking, Backpacking, Paddling, Camping, and Exploring Pennsylvania's Endless Mountains...and beyond.

