What month is this?

I couldn’t believe my luck.  On my day off, the weather decided to warm up to the mid 60s.  What did I decide to do, go hiking!  I wasn’t going to miss the opportunity to get outside in the sunshine in the middle of winter.  Winter is tough season for me.  I thrive in the outdoors and HATE being cold, so you can imagine how I feel being cooped up indoors for months and trying to stay warm.  It’s also not good for my waistline–too much sitting, too much eating!

I was smart this time–I wore appropriate footwear–calf length water proof boots.  They were a little too warm for the weather, but my feet and legs stayed dry as I sloshed through the mud, melted snow, streams, and left over ice all along the trail.

It had been so long since I hiked miles, up hills, down hills, that my calves are sore today.  It’s awesome!

Tags:

Leave a Reply

TakeAHikeTony

Notes from wandering aimlessly for more than 40 years...

I heart PGH

IheartPGH: a blog about Pittsburgh and people who love this city

Walking Pittsburgh

one neighborhood at a time

Endless Mountains Experience

Hiking, Backpacking, Paddling, Camping, and Exploring Pennsylvania's Endless Mountains...and beyond.

